Paradise Take Two

I know I claimed that Belize was paradise on Earth, but I guess that was because I had never been to Hawaii before. Look to the left and see fields of mango trees, look to the left and see hula and fire dancer, and look in a full circle and see crystal clear waters on all sides. Now, in case you are not booking your plane tickets by now, I’ll tell you about a few of the gems of the incredible island of Maui.
Now if you aren’t sold that everyone could love Maui as much as I did, I asked a few people about their experiences in Maui. “Our family was very surprised by how beautiful Maui was. Especially how clean it was” says 16 year old Elizabeth Lupu-Leica of a family vacation she went on last year. You could tell how much the people cared about the island and how much love goes into keeping the island beautiful. I was a wonderful thing to be around”.
Maui is known across the globe for it’s crystal clear waters and amazing surfing conditions. And no, those giant waves don’t just exist on the covers of surfing magazines and billabong ads. Step outside and Voilà! Now, don’t get intimidated by the six-packs and stamina of the surfers you’ll see on the beach. There are plenty of beaches suited for beginners. Still not feeling it? Hire a surf teacher who will guide you along to make you look like a pro, no matter your skill level.
17-year-old Jaeme Poncin tells the story of her first surfing experience. “When I first got to Maui, I saw the surfers across the entire shore and I was frankly, terrified. I said I would never even step food on a surfboard, but my whole family went out and came back, bragging about how it was the most amazing thing in the world, so of course I had to try it. Hesitantly, I went out with a surf instructor and hoped into the water. It was the scariest thing of my life, but so incredibly beautiful. I’m not saying I’ll do it again, but for me, it was a once in a lifetime experience.”
1
Water sports not your thing? There are plenty of ways to experience the incredible Hawaiian culture without the “danger” of the open ocean. Luaus are a great way to see authentic Hawaiian dancers in action, listen to the diverse music of Hawaii, and sip on refreshing coconut juice as you relax on the beach. My favorite dance is the Hawaiian fire dance. Seeing people, just like us, dance with fire with such skill is an experience like no other.
2
If you are looking a great family friendly restaurant, Lahaina Grill has a lot to offer! http://blog.zagat.com/2013/01/hawaii-survey-results-mauis-5-best.html recommends it for it’s “delectable food and exceptional art adorning walls make for a lovely Maui evening with a touch of quiet sophistication”. Many agree saying that you leave the restaurant feeling “spoiled for life”. They said “In short, it’s a home run every time”.
3
Let’s just glaze over the long plane ride and focus on the culture and experiences that Maui has to offer, which are unlike any other, and are things that can’t be found anywhere else on Earth.

One response to “Paradise Take Two

  1. I really enjoyed this post because it made me actually want to visit Maui. I also thought that you had a very strong intro as it mentioned a previous post, making me curious and forcing me to look back and read more of your blog. In addition, the pictures are engaging and allow the reader to really get a sense of what it is like when visiting.

Leave a comment