The Island of the Gods

bedugul_baliEveryone thinks of something different when they think of perfection. I think of Bali. The little island of about 4 million people is small enough that you could drive around the entire island in one day.

If you are looking for a enriching stay dense with culture and really want to get a dose of the island, I would recommend staying at Arma, a beautiful resort located on a black sand beach where you can get the best eight dollar massage out there. When you walk out of the hotel, you can head right over to monkey forest where there are monkeys sitting around before you even enter the temple. You can feed them sweet potatoes; just make sure to hide your sunglasses.

One of the best things to see in Bali are the traditional dances. My favorite, the fire dance, is a combination of traditional dancing, religious rituals, and, well, fire.Hanoman_Kecak_Dance_Uluwatu_sunset If you are willing to make the 18 hour journey out there, I promise, you will never want to leave.

*photos courtesy of embassyofindonesia.org and wikimedia.org 

 

One response to “The Island of the Gods

  1. I like the overall aesthetic provided by the pictures. You give us little details which make the story come alive and I really respect that. However, I do not know if you noticed but you spelled massage with an e.

Leave a comment